A Slice of Life

We Call Her Evelyn

My Own Slice of Life on Calling her Evelyn

When I was little I spent a lot of time at my Grandma’s house. My mom would take my sister and me over there to help care for my Great Grandma. I always felt close to my Grandma and I think it was because of all of the time we had together. I remember watching my mom and my Grandma together. My mom is one of four children and the only girl. When I was younger, I watched their exchanges and I listened to their conversations. I remember thinking that someday my mom and I would have a relationship that looked like this.

My Grandma had emphysema and died when I was too young to lose my Grandma and when my mom was too young to lose her mom. I guess there is never an age when it is easy to experience loss but I have always felt like my Grandma was taken away from us too soon.

As an adult, I think about my mom and how she handles this loss. I cannot even begin to imagine how horrible it would be to go through each day without my own mom. I see my mom almost every single day and we don’t go a day without having at least one phone conversation. I recently moved much closer to my mom. I am now about a seven minute drive to my mom’s house. That is just the way my mom and I like it. I now have the relationship with my mom that I watched my mom have with her mom.

The memories I have of my Grandma are somewhat foggy. I sometimes have to ask my mom or my sister to clarify how something really happened because I can’t remember the memory exactly right. I know her name was Evelyn and she had short curly hair. She was so tiny. So thin and very short. She liked to lie on the couch and have me rub her back. I can hear her laugh and the hint of sarcasm in her voice. I can picture her in my mind. I can see her smile. I can see the clothes she used to wear. Some of my other memories, I think, are based on photographs that I have seen. I remember for sure that she was adorable and sweet and she always had candy on the counter and cookies in the drawer. And I remember that she was my mom’s daily phone conversation and my mom’s best friend.  

Two years ago, my daughter was born. We call her Evelyn. She was named in remembrance of my Grandma, but also in honor of my mom. My best friend.

Comments on: "We Call Her Evelyn" (5)

  1. Aw such a sweet story. I like how you said that your Grandma was your Mom’s daily phone conversation and best friend.

  2. What precious memories. I lot my grandmother much too young, too, but I grew up being told I was just like her. I like how the good parts of family relationships are repeating between generations–first your mom and grandma, now you and your mom, and in the future, you and Evelyn.

  3. Evelyn is such a beautiful name to honor 2 beautiful people. I love to read stories of names. One of our boy & girl names honor my grandparents. Your format is also pretty amazing 🙂

  4. This is beautiful. I, too, have had to ask my older sister about certain things about my grandparents…although they did not die as early as it sounds like your grandmother did…they lived 500 miles away so we did not get to see them often. Your post brought a smile and a sigh to me…little Evelyn…to carry on the tradition of the love you have with your mother and grandmother. So, so sweet. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  5. This is really beautiful. I didn’t know the Bear was named after your Grandma. Love. The details you chose to include were touching. It’s the small stuff.
    Also, my gram’s best friend’s name was Evelyn! Wouldn’t that have been a hoot if our Grams were BFF??

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

